Certified caregiver training is now required in California as well as many other states in the U.S.A. California's state legislature passed the Caliofornia Home Care Services Consumer Protection law which basically just enforces all the requirements senior care companies were providing with the addition of requiring California caregivers to have 10 hours of caregiver certification training.
California's Assembly Bill 1217, often called "AB1217" outlines the caregiver training requirements. After the first year of working as a caregiver, senior caregivers must document they have taken 5 hours of additional training each year to maintain caregiver certification for the state of California. By taking an online training course
, caregivers can easily document their training.