California caregivers must now complete caregiver training matching the state's new criteria as outlined in the new Home Care Services Consumer Protection law. The new law requiring California caregiver training went into effect on January 1, 2016.
What are the California caregiver training requirements now?
Caregivers must be trained on the policies and procedures required for caregiving in the home, understand safety skills for being a home caregiver and then be trained in core competencies.
How do you become a home caregiver in California?
- Be able to pass a criminal background check
- Be legal to work in the U.S.A.
- Verify completion of 5 hours of orientation and safety training prior to being able to work with a client and 5 hours of core competency training to be completed annually (must have 5 years of training each year)
- Apply for a caregiving job with a senior home care agency, assisted living community or community care service
Where can you find California Caregiver Certification Training?
Caregiverlist Basic California Caregiver Training by Caregiver Training University provides online training meeting the law's requirements.