California's caregiver registry was created as part of the Assembly Bill 1217 (AB1217) Consumer Protection Act requiring senior home care agency's to be licensed by the state and all professional caregivers working in homes to meet minimum requirements.
Caregivers must complete a training course that includes 2 hours of Orientation training, 3 hours of Safety Training and 5 hours of Core Competency caregiving skills training for a total of 10 hours of training in their first year. Then each following year caregivers must complete 5 hours of renewal training on core competency skills. Here is the California caregiver training course information.
The California Department of Social Services manages the licensing process and the Caregiver Registry.
California caregivers must pass a background check clearance and requires a signed declaration under penalty of perjury regarding any prior criminal convictions and to confirm they are free of active tuberculosis.
California Home Care Aides are also required to have a valid driver's license or state issued I.D. or a valid Alien Registration Card. Fingerprinting is part of the background check program to confirm a caregiver is the person they say they are and prevent identity theft fraud.
The California State Department of Social Services manages the California Home Care Aide Registry.
Become a California Caregiver by taking an online caregiver training course and submit your job application to be considered by a senior care company near your California town.
Join the P.A.C.
to receive caregiver training, t-shirt and lapel pin to meet state training requirements.