California Senior Home Care Agency Training Requirement Regulation Begins in January 2016

Senior Home Care Agencies in California will be required to document the training they provide for professional senior caregivers based on the state of California's Assembly Bill 1217 which requires a minimum of 5 hours of entry-level training prior to presence with a client and 5 hours of training annually.

As more seniors are choosing to age-in-place in their own home, more states are establishing rules and regulations to insure both the seniors and the caregivers are protected and receive the insurance benefits and payroll taxes, as required by law. One of the benefits for caregivers working for senior home care agencies includes the payment of their Social Security, Unemployment and Worker's Compensation insurances.  This way senior caregivers are protected should the client pass away or get better and in the event they were to have an injury on the job. In addition, senior caregivers employed by senior home care agencies know that they are paying into all payroll taxes, including Social Security benefits and will be able to collect on this benefit for their own retirement.

California senior home care agencies can easily comply with this training mandate by providing an online training program. Caregiver Training University provides training meeting the state department of health requirements nationwide.  Individual caregivers may also purchase training and be added to the caregiver certification registry on Caregiverlist.  

Private duty senior home care agencies may request a sample caregiver training and a demo by contacting: susan@caregiverlist.com or calling 312-669-8821.



Loading

Log in