California's legislature passed a new requirement for professional senior caregivers in California to now have orientation training and safety training prior to working with a senior client, followed by 5 hours of annual training on core competencies. This training mandate is covered in Article 8 of the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act. Once caregivers have completed this online course powered by Caregiver Training University, they receive a certificate and their name is added to the Certified Caregiver Training Registry.
California senior caregivers also must renew their training each year with 5 hours focusing on any of the core competencies, defined as training on:
- Clients' Rights and Safety
- How to provide for and respond to a client's daily living needs
- How to report, prevent and detect abuse and neglect
- How to assist a client with personal hygiene and other home care services
- If involved in transportation services, how to safely transport a client
- Review of any job-related topics
The California caregiver training mandate also accepts online training programs for this initial 10-hour training and annual 5-hour training requirement which senior caregivers may take through Caregiver Training University (and their company may also provide them with this online caregiver training through the company' caregiver training portal subscription).